Microsoft offers voluntary buyouts to up to 60,000 employees
10/26/2026 — 10/27, 01:18·5 sources (all)·5 reports (all)·In the 2026-10-27 briefing
Key takeaways
- Microsoft is offering voluntary buyouts to as many as 60,000 vice-president-and-below employees in the US, UK, Canada, and India, according…
Background & analysis
On October 26, 2026, Bloomberg first reported that Microsoft Corp. will offer buyouts to about 60,000 workers at VP level and below across teams in the US, Canada, India, and the UK, as part of efforts to trim costs and retool its workforce for the artificial intelligence era. At the end of June, Microsoft's headcount stood at 223K.
Minutes later, The Verge reported that Microsoft is offering voluntary buyouts to up to 60,000 employees across the US, UK, Canada, and India. Amy Coleman, Microsoft's chief people officer, wrote in an internal message that this gives staff the opportunity to leave Microsoft with financial support and career planning resources, as the company looks to trim staff without another round of layoffs. Note the figures differ slightly: Bloomberg's wording is about 60,000, while The Verge frames the ceiling as up to 60,000.
On October 27, CNBC reported that Microsoft is offering voluntary buyouts to roughly 60,000 employees, characterizing the move as an attempt to balance a rapid infrastructure build-out with capital efficiency; that report did not specify which departments or roles are involved. Public information on the program currently stops at its scale, covered countries, and the employee levels named, and Microsoft has not released numbers on how many employees have applied or accepted.
AI-generated from 3 reports · updated 1 hour ago
Latest turnMicrosoft Chief People Officer Amy Coleman announced a Voluntary Exit Offer in a memo to employees, open to eligible staff at level 70 and below in participating teams in Canada, India, the UK and the US. The offer is voluntary and time-limited, with financial support.
- Heat index
- 483
- All sources
- 5
- All reports
- 5
- First seen
- 2 hours ago
Reports on this story headlines open the original
Microsoft Chief People Officer Amy Coleman announced a Voluntary Exit Offer in a memo to employees, open to eligible staff at level 70 and below in participating teams in Canada, India, the UK and the US. The offer is voluntary and time-limited, with financial support.
The Next WebAI score 65Bloomberg reports that Microsoft has offered buyouts to about 60,000 employees, with some staff in the US, Canada, India and the UK eligible. The move is described as part of retooling its workforce for the AI era; specific roles and costs were not disclosed.
Bloomberg TechnologyAI score 68Microsoft is offering voluntary buyouts to 60,000 employees as it tries to balance a rapid infrastructure build-out with capital efficiency, CNBC reports. The report does not specify which teams or roles are affected.
CNBC · 科技AI score 60
Microsoft is offering voluntary buyouts to as many as 60,000 employees in the US, UK, Canada and India, The Verge reports. In an internal message, chief people officer Amy Coleman said the program lets staff "leave Microsoft with financial support and career planning resources" as the company looks to shrink headcount without another round of layoffs.
The Verge · AIAI score 53Microsoft is offering buyouts to about 60,000 employees at VP level and below across the US, Canada, India, and the UK, according to Bloomberg. The move is part of efforts to trim costs and reshape its workforce for the artificial intelligence era; headcount was 223,000 at the end of June.
TechmemeAI score 71
Other stories people are talking about
- Heat index 2460SurgeAnthropic files IPO application for Nasdaq listing under ticker ANT27 sources
- Heat index 962SurgeMeta plans to raise up to $95B in equity for AI expansion11 sources
- Heat index 941RisingSpaceX locks in $40B GPU financing commitment with Apollo12 sources
- Heat index 406Kimi apologizes for K3.1 Pro throttling, resets subscription credits7 sources
- Heat index 362RisingReddit r/opensource bans all AI projects and tightens posting rules5 sources
How is heat calculated?About the methodHide
Heat counts how many independent sources covered a story in the last 48 hours: one source counts once no matter how many posts it published, decaying with a 24-hour half-life. What ranks first is what many people are talking about.
This page aggregates public feeds. Headlines and summaries are machine-organized and remain the property of the original authors; verify important facts at the source. If you believe a headline or summary infringes your rights, email the contact address in the footer with the page URL and basis of your claim, and we will remove or replace it after review.
- Surge
- Discussion rising fast
- New
- First report within 6 hours
- Rising
- Still gathering discussion

